top of page

Back To Basics


Im not sure if most of you know but i'm pregnant, which if you have been pregnant you will know how hard it is to keep your skin looking good. A pregnant ladies skin changes dramatically, you can either be really lucky and have perfect skin throughout, or you can be unlucky and struggle to get that normal look to your skin. Everything changes during pregnancy, not just your body, and my skin going bad was probably the worst that could of happened as I pride myself on having flawless skin.

I read so many pregnancy blogs about skin etc and never really go to the end of my problem, everyday my skin would change texture and apperance, so what would work one day wouldn't work the next, so I set out on a mission to get my skin back !

I thought nothing could possibly get any worse, my skin looks awful so how awful can it go ?

I went with the hole experiment on "Back to Basics" which worked perfectly for me, I found a product that came well recommended as a non fuss product, basic and cheap too.

I kept things very basic, a good makeup remover, cleanser and moisturizer and that ladies is pretty much it, so lets get into a little more dept on each product.

1. La Roche-Posay Micellar Cleasing Water £11 (200ml)

Removing your makeup properly regardless of being pregnant is extremely important, during pregnancy your skin can go two ways, oily or dry, either way you go its very important to remove your makeup or the built up grime during the day. A good makeup removers shouldnt leave an oil cast on the skin or leave you feeling even dirtier than before. This makeup remover I perticularly like as it eats away at makeup with one swipe of the skin, no agressive rubbing needed and its leaves my skin feeling properly prepped for the next stage of cleansing.

2. La Roche-Posay Mela-D Deep Cleansing Brightening Foaming Cream £11 (125ml)

This product by far has to be my favourite, the best part of my day is having a fresh face, many people think that in order to have clean skin they need that squeeky clean feeling, but all that does is remove all oil in the skin and intern making you produce more oil which can lead to problematic skin, its gentle, and also contains micro exfoliants to help improve the skin texture making your skin visibly even and brighter. Its hard these days to come across a product that is so highly effective with little damage to the skin, Ive noticed that my skin whilst pregnant has been beyond sensative, even though I have it back to its good condition, if I change anything, even if I clean my makeup brushes, i'll immediately become irritated, this has been the only cleanser that has been gentle enough to deeply cleanse my skin without leaving it feeling dry or damaged.

3. La Roche-Posay Toleriane Riche Soothing Protecting Cream £15 (40ml)

Like I said previously about my pregnancy skin being extremely sensative this moisturizer does everything to help reduce any signs of hypersensativity, they have two options of this cream, the Toleriane which isnt as rich and has less treatment based products or the Toleriane Riche, which for me works perfectly because as I said its not just a moisturizer to nurish the skin its also fights the first skins of any reactions your skin may be having. Another pro to this product is that it works excellently as a base for makeup, although being rich its to too rich where you are left with an oily film which as you all know can be a nightmare for makeup.

All in All La Roche Posay in my opinion is such a great product for pregnancy, the smell is pleasant and it does what it says on the bottle, no added extras that confuse the skin, its a great fuss free product, and as your pregnancy progress you become alot more "lazy" and fatigued and to be honest you just cant be bothered to go through the hassle of a massive skincare regime, keep it simple ladies.

xx


Featured Posts

Recent Posts

bottom of page